ARE YOU INJURED? WE CAN HELP!
The Law Office of Monica Wilburn, LLC has years of experience working in the workers’ compensation system on both the injured worker and employer side. She can bring a unique insight to the evaluation of your case. Her experience can mean your success.
The workers’ compensation system was developed to ensure that employees injured on the job have immediate access to medical and income benefits. Negligence or Fault are not considered in these cases! This system is designed to help protect the injured worker and the employer. The injured worker will get the medical benefits and income benefits they need to survive during the period of treatment and rehabilitation and the employer will be protected from reimbursing the employee for pain and suffering.
Important Workers’ Compensation Facts:
What is the deadline to file a Worker Injury Claim?
Claims must be filed within 1 year of the on the job injury
Where do I file my Claim?
Claims are filed with the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation in Atlanta, Georgia by the completion of a WC-14 form. For more information, please visit http://sbwc.georgia.gov.
When am I entitled to Workers’ Compensation benefits if I am injured on the job?
An on-the-job injured worker is entitled to worker’s compensation benefits as soon as the first day on the job.
When do I have to notify my employer that I was injured on the job?
Notice of the work injury must be given to the employer by the employee within 30 days of the work-related injury.
What are the requirements of my employer?
If an employer has three (3) or more full time employees they are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. If they fail to do this they will be reported to the Enforcement Division at (404) 657-7285 or toll free at 1 (800) 743-5436. You can verify your employer’s workers’ compensation coverage by calling the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation at (404) 656-3818 or online at www.sbwc.georgia.gov. Any business found not in compliance with the workers’ compensation coverage requirements faces civil penalties up to $5000.00 per violation and a year in prison.
Are there exceptions to an employer’s obligation to have workers’ compensation insurance?
Yes. If an employer has less than 3 employees, and railroad carriers, U.S. Government agencies (they fall under a federal workers’ compensation program which has different rules and regulations than the State Workers’ Compensation system), farm laborers, and domestic servants.
Have more questions? Call The Law Office of Monica Wilburn, LLC and speak to our workers’ compensation attorney.